Designing my own shoe (version 1.0)

The other way to deal with large feet  is to just design one’s own shoes. As a kid I was never very good with a lathe or jigsaw but I am good with computers.  Now armed with a 3d printer, laser cutter, and CNC machine, I can now explore all sores of new unconventional designs.   Here is a rendering of very early prototype that I am working on.  It features a center spine with rows of cylindrical ribs.  Later, the top half of the shoe will have interweaving ribbons that hook onto the end of each rib.

3D shoe design 1.0

3D shoe design (version 1.0)

This is still a work in progress. My first attempt at laser cutting the center spine was promising though the wood easily cracked even without the weight of an entire body.  The next iteration will have to thicker and stronger.    I probably will be making a full 3D geometric scan of my foot in order to find the perfect fit.  It is always fun to play around with silicon, plaster, and fiberglass casting.  While I can machine can form the sole, I will have to work on my sewing skills to make this an really comfortable shoe.  If my feet still hurt I can only blame myself.  More images will follow as I endeavor to build the perfect shoe.

Leave a Reply

