Learning to walk

I thought I knew how to walk.  I knew that I was supposed to sway my hips and place my feet in a straight line.  However a little sass goes a long way so I would always try to tone it down.  Except now I am studying to be on stage – where everything needs to be big. On Sunday, I had my second White Hall lesson with the fantastic Tanisha for a yet-to-be-determined drag performance. I already know the words I want to sing, but I need more than a voice. I need a full face and body performance.  First, there is the side step: “step, drag, step, drag”.  Supposedly dragging one’s toe is sexy.  Then there is the “Beyonce” supermodel walk: “step, swing, kick, step, swing, kick”. I don’t think my hips were designed for this much freedom, it feels more like a chicken strut.  Somehow while the legs and hips are going crazy, the upper body has to stay still.  When I stop walking and pose on the beat, feet together.  I had planned all these elaborate hand gestures, but I am realizing that I will need to simplify things to prevent cognitive overload.

Finally I have to give good face.  With all the singing, walking, and pointing, I keep forgetting to smile.  I have always been self-conscious about my smile, so I end up looking very stoic.  I am not the only one who does this, most supermodels look sad.  Maybe they are hungry, or they are too focused on the smize.  But a true smile is always the the sexiest expression, though Tanisha’s duck lips aren’t bad either.

White Hall

In the dance studio with Tanisha Hall

One thought on “Learning to walk

Leave a Reply

