Around the world in 80 spins

Yesterday, I returned for another dance double header with Orlee at Allure Pole Dance Studio. In the course of two hours, I attempted more spins than ever before. As I am finally getting the hang of spinning both ways, I don’t get so dizzy and can keep on going. In the end, I am really tired and sore but it feels good. Also, I can finally start to break down the moves I have learned so far (with help from the wonderful Pole Dance Dictionary).  In some cases there are multiple names for the same move.

First you learn your basic sexy walk round the pole, teasing with your spare hand.  The first two intro spins are the “Firefly” and the “Around the World”.  The closest thing, I could find in the dictionary is the fireman spin.  The difference is that I stick my knees out more and hook the pole behind the pointed ankle.  You can even stand up mid spin, but I am still working on this.  I find it hard to grip the pole enough to pull up, while also letting the pole continue to slip through my fingers and spin.

Step, step, step

Sexy walk

Fireman / Firefly

Fireman / Firefly

Standup firefly

Standup firefly

My current favorite move is the side floater – where you just tuck your knees and spin outside the pole. If you then turn your body and hook your foot, you can then transition into the backwards showgirl mid-spin. Really fun!!! You can achieve a lot of different variations just by hooking either the inside or outside leg.

Floater

Floater

Backwards Showgirl

Backwards Showgirl

Spinner Variation

Spinner Variation

Next, comes climbs and inverts. This is where you really need to build core strength and also learn to grip with your legs. While I tried an invert for the first time a few weeks ago, yesterday was the first time I was able to let go with my hands and slide down into the plank (not gracefully, but still fun). Just like with the climb, I need to learn to trust my legs and not rely so much on my arms to hold me up. Orlee is also starting up a new Tuesday class dedicated to inverts, so I should be getting more practice.

Crucifix Climb

Crucifix Climb

Basic Invert

Basic Invert

Slide through Plank

Slide through Plank

The last move we tried yesterday was the backwards roll. I like this because I can actually practice it at home without the pole. When done correctly it’s a cool floor transition allowing you to finally catch your breath.

Backwards Roll

Backwards Roll

Now, I just need to find a way to link all these moves together into an actual routine. Looking back, its amazing how far I’ve come. Plus, I’ve just signed up for my next set of classes so I am not stopping anytime soon.

Leave a Reply

